Posted in food, vegan, Vegan recipes

Vegan cottage pie. 

Cottage pie has always been one of my favourite meals. When I was vegetarian I would use quorn mince. As I’m now vegan quorn mince is no longer an option so I bought the Sainsbury’s meat free mince, which is suitable for vegans. 

To make my cottage pie I use 

  • One tin of chopped tomatoes (basic brands are absolutely fine) 
  • 1/2 bag of Sainsbury’s meat free mince. 
  • 1 red onion – chopped 
  • 1 leek – chopped
  • 1 large carrot – chopped 
  • A cupful of garden peas 
  • 4 large potatoes (I like to use big baking potatoes because they seem to make the best mash) 
  • Flora freedom (for mashing) 
  • Black pepper to taste 
  • Dried rosemary (not essential) 
  • Vegan gravy powder. 

I put the tin of tomatoes, the mince, and the vegetables in the slow cooker and add a mug full of made up gravy then add some black pepper and a sprinkle of rosemary. 

I leave the slow cooker on high for five hours. 

Then I make mashed potatoes, adding only a good blob of flora freedom and a little black pepper. 

Then I put the mince mixture into a Pyrex dish, top with the mash and bake for 15-20 minutes. 

And voila a hearty delicious vegan meal. 

The Sainsbury’s meat feee mince is very good. I would give it ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

8 thoughts on “Vegan cottage pie. 

let me know if you have any thoughts on this post.